top of page

What Can the 'Nature Island' Teach You?


Before considering Ross University School of Medicine, I had no clue where Dominica was or what to expect with the culture like most other incoming students. You can read the Wikipedia page, follow this hilarious Tumblr feed, or you can watch some YouTube videos of former students who try to capture the essence of Dominica.

However, the Nature Island of the Caribbean is a unique place that is difficult to describe and must be lived to fully appreciate what the island has to offer. Every student has a different experience of the island, and there tends to be a dichotomy between those who love being there and those who hate it. I loved my experience on the island, and will be the first to tell you how thankful I am for the great opportunities I have been afforded in life. In my opinion, the secret to loving your experience on the island is to embrace the island and make the best of the experience.

The People

The local culture is welcoming and warm. I had a very pleasant experience and I know the welcoming community played a major part. The local culture reveres children in an uplifting way that made me feel as though my family was not only welcomed but had a safe environment. I had instances where I lost my cell phone and my Fitbit on an H bus, and because families tend to stand out, the items were always brought back to me somehow. My family was definitely an asset in attending medical school in Dominica, and I know that I stood out more because of my adorable children.

Peter, one of the local drivers, was always welcoming and kind to my family. We trusted him to drive us because he was safe (trust me, some of the drivers will make you think 'this is the end' on some of your trips around the island). He knew my children's names, would surprise us with local fruits, and would always ask me about my mother-in-law who had visited us on the island and who he drove to the airport. For anyone wanting to go on local trips around the island, he will give you more for your money in terms of ensuring your safety and making sure you love the experience. If anyone on the island wants his contact information, you can usually reach out to the Ross Spouses Organization and they do have a number list on their page if you click the link.

Auntie Grace....ah, the atmosphere of her and Uncle's great breakfast spot that turns into a dance floor to teach salsa once a week was easily a home away from home. Auntie and Uncle are from the U.K. and have a restaurant across the street from the Student Center. They welcome you with open arms, and will quickly make you sore with laughter before your leave. Some dishes are named after the most creative of students whose unique entrees are popular enough to warrant reproduction on the menu. The Mickey, a biscuits and gravy dish named after my favorite Alaskan, was added during my time on the island, and you can ask Auntie for the backstory for any of the named dishes and she will share with you stories about the student. If you're looking to be adopted during your time on the island, this is the family that will openly bring you in and make you feel at home.

Two other people who bear mention in this section are Hans and Lise, the owners of The Champs. They aren't native to Dominica, but they have been there many years and they provide a great service to the students by providing such an awesome atmosphere. The Champs is a local fine-dining restaurant that turns into a bar late at night. It was where we had met up at the beginning of each semester to reconnect with friends who went back home, went on Thursday nights for trivia, had awesome karaoke sessions, and the place where the Pediatric Date Auction was held each semester.

Although I cannot possibly name every person on the island that effected me through their stories and the way they helped me or my family feel at home, I can tell you that you will meet some of the most kind and most humble people when you go to Dominica. The people of the island value respect above all else. Most locals will expect you to walk by with a smile and a greeting such as "Good morning" or "Good Day," and are not afraid to call you out if they feel disrespected. If you do not leave the island learning the value of respecting people, then you likely did not get away from medicine enough to interact with the community. The businesses that you end up working with regularly will know you by name and know your specific quirks, which says a lot since hundreds of students come and go from the island each semester.

The Housing

Living on the island was interesting, and can have a learning curve depending on where you live and the amenities of your apartment or home. First semester, my wife and I moved into a three-bedroom house in Glanvillia. This was a 20 minute walk to campus, or a 3-5 minute bus ride on the H-bus. We were well away from campus, and lived about a five minute walk to the Saturday market. Our house was nice for the great price we were paying and we were forced to immerse ourselves in the culture early. We had to figure out how to take an H-bus with a 3 year old and an infant....there is no such thing as a carseat by the way... My oldest son loved getting on the H-bus and was always such a hoot when he would talk to the locals. One way trips to the school were 1.50 EC, and a trip to the capital one way was 9 EC. Because we lived so far away and the kids went to campus to attend the day school, my wife tended to come to campus everyday where she would study for her online degree or join the Ross Spouses Organization for their various activities and trips. We only stayed at that house for a semester because we felt disconnected from the rest of campus life due to the distance.

Second semester, we moved to Old Johnson Apartments into a two bedroom unit and it was like moving to America after the previous place. We had U.S. and Dominican outlets, better A/C units, and a two minute walk to campus. It was amazing being so close, and definitely allowed us to do more events and get more involved. However, living that close to campus came with being able to hear all the events at Tulips, Champs, the Dome, and other night time celebrations.

Furthermore, time management is very important in medical school and you don't realize how much time is wasted just with traveling to and from campus depending on how far you live. Also, our landlord owned a laundry that was in the same building as our apartment so that made dropping off and picking up folded laundry so efficient (I definitely miss having cheap laundry service). We got a discount on the apartment because we have kids (the landlords realize the struggle that families go through), and renters get a discount on laundry with them too. Fun tip, offer to pay for the rent for the semester upfront if you can, most of the time you can get a discount and generally the landlords prefer that from my experiences. At both places we lived, our landlords were somewhat abrupt and at first impression come off short in how they talk to you, but you learn that it is part of the local culture. Over time I felt as though they genuinely cared about my success and wanted me to do as well as possible.

Every apartment is different, even within the same complex. You will learn that consistency is hard to come by on the island. You will likely also learn to just "roll with the punches." Electricity will go out. Water will be shut off. If your place doesn't have back up options for electricity or water, then you will learn to devise a way around it or be without it for the time being. If electricity goes out, burn a candle and study from the material you've backed up on your computer or from your First Aid book. Or, go to campus because they will have electricity and water. If water goes out, you'll either take that shower tomorrow or you will go to the gym to shower. I used a couple of our extra barrels to store water so sometimes I used my electric kettle to heat up water so that I could give the boys their bath before bed or if I wanted to shower myself using buckets of water. Our dishes were washed in a bucket in the sink, so the electric kettle definitely had regular use.

Just get passed the first few weeks living there. Unless you've splurged for a high-end residence, you will likely notice the differences between a Dominican residence and a U.S. or Canadian residence. You will adapt and be fine. You will also learn that you can do without more than you think as long as you embrace the experience and learn to accept the things you cannot change. Remind yourself of why you moved to Dominica, and use your dream to motivate you to work hard and overcome any obstacle that you find living in a foreign country. I stayed on island 1 6 months solid and they were some of the most carefree and enjoyable 16 months of my life.

So, I have noticed that this blog post has already gotten fairly long so I will write another one in the future about things to do on the island for families. I hope this insight into the people and the housing environment helps you get a feel for what to expect, and better understand kind of what you are getting into living in Dominica. I learned a lot from my experience there, and I feel that the Nature Island has made me a more resilient and overall a well-rounded person. If you have any questions or suggestions for posts, please reach out to me anytime!

If you click on a photo in the slideshow below then you can read descriptions about each photo. Enjoy!

bottom of page